2019 Day SIX : The FINALS

2019-12-24T21:50:35+00:00February 17th, 2019|Categories: 2019, Home, NEWS, TODAY|
AJ Bell British National Squash Championships 2019 : FINALS 

[3] Tesni Evans (Wal) 3-0 [4] Emily Whitlock (Eng)  11-3, 11-6, 11-5 (31m)

[1] James Willstrop (Eng) 3-1 [2] Daryl Selby (Eng)  11-5, 7-11, 11-5, 11-7 (60m)

Tesni and James are the 2019 National Champions

Tesni Evans is still the British National Champion after an emphatic win over Emily Whitlock in the women’s final.

The match went in phases – Tesni led the first 3-0, Emily levelled then Tesni raced to 11-3. In the second Emily pegged from 0-6 to 6-all but Tesni finished it 11-6. It was 4-1 to Tesni in the third, then 4-all, but Tesni again powered away, taking the title 11-5.

James Willstrop captured his third title, 11 years after his last, with an entertaining four-game win over Daryl Selby. Willlstrop pulled away from the middle of the first to lead, but Selby levelled after taking a 7-0 lead in the second.

The third and fourth both went Willstriop’s way with Selby’s exertions earlier in the tournament – and probable a 1-26 record against Willstrop – taking their toll.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Quick Finals Preview

The Women’s final features defending champion Tesni Evans and first time finalist Emily Whitlock, who beat the top two seeds in yesterday’s semi-finals.

They haven’t met for three years, but in their six meetings from 2008 to 2016 (2 juniors, 3 PSA and one PSL) it’s Whitlock who has emerged the victor each time!

Rhyll-based Evans is the only Welsh player to have won the Nationals, while Whitlock is from nearby Colwyn Bay, so there will be celebrations in Wales whatever the outcome.

The men’s final will be between the top two seeds, both former champions.  James Willstrop, winner in 2007 and 2008, will be playing in his tenth final as he takes on Daryl Selby, the 2011 champion who has survived three successive five-game thrillers (four if you count Wednesday’s Surrey Cup) to reach this stage.

Neither have won this title for a while, and their first two Nationals meetings were back in the 2009 and 2010 quarters and semis before Willstrop prevailed in last year’s semi-final.

Willstrop has been the victor in all but one of their 27 previous matches – dating from the 1994 British Juniors U12 final –  Selby’s sole win coming in the 2013 Qatar Classic, with Willstrop winning six times (but only once in PSA) since then.