Matthew and Massaro head quality entry list

2018-01-29T23:05:55+00:00January 29th, 2018|Categories: 2018, TODAY|Tags: |

Reigning Champions Nick Matthew and Laura Massaro are top seeds in what promises to be one of the most hotly contested Nationals in recent history.

Featuring nine players inside the World’s Top 20, the standard is going to be out of this world!

Joining ten-time National champion Matthew in the men’s draw will be former World No.1 James Willstrop. The English stalwarts are seeded to meet in what could be their last Nationals final together following Matthew’s retirement at the end of the season.

The Yorkshire duo have locked horns in five previous Nationals finals, with three-time World Champion Matthew winning each time. Can two-time Nationals champion Willstrop get a final victory against his England compatriot?

A wealth of British talent will also be competing for the top spot including World No.17 and 2011 National champion Daryl Selby, World No.25 Declan James, Scottish No.2 Greg Lobban, Welsh No.1 Joel Makin, Chris Simpson and Ben Coleman.

World No.4 Massaro tops an outstanding women’s draw alongside 2015 National champion Sarah-Jane Perry – ranked 8th in the world and Welsh No.1 Tesni Evans, currently 12th in the PSA rankings.

World No.10 and four-time National champion Alison Waters, two-time National champion Jenny Duncalf, World No.15 Emily Whitlock and World No.16 Victoria Lust will also compete to make the women’s draw one of the most competitive in the tournament’s illustrious history.

Men’s Seeds

[1] Nick Matthew

[2] James Willstrop

[3/4] Daryl Selby

[3/4] Declan James

[5/8] Greg Lobban

[5/8] Joel Makin

[5/8] Chris Simpson

[5/8] Ben Coleman

Women’s Seeds

[1] Laura Massaro

[2] Sarah-Jane Perry

[3/4] Tesni Evans

[3/4] Alison Waters

[5/8] Victoria Lust

[5/8] Fiona Moverley

[5/8] Millie Tomlinson

[5/8] Emily Whitlock

The full draw and schedule will be announced on Friday 2nd February.