The National Squash Championships is one of the most prestigious events on the British calendar and is one not to be missed.

Top professionals past and present from all around the British Isles will battle for the coveted titles, with stars such as three-time world champion Nick Matthew and World No.4 Laura Massaro on show.

Held annually in February at the National Squash Centre in Manchester, the Championships have been running since the 1970s and attract more than 400 players across 19 categories, from the men’s and women’s main draws right up to the Over 80s. The tournament also hosts the National Deaf Squash Championships.

The Nationals in numbers

  • There are 21 different draws – the main men’s and women’s draw and 19 Master categories.
  • Nick Matthew holds the record for the most men’s National titles won – 9 in total.
  • Cassie Jackman holds the record for the most women’s National titles won – 6 in total.
  • Pat Kirton has won 17 National Masters titles.
  • The 2017 tournament saw 13-year-old Sam Todd from Pontefract become the youngest ever player to feature at a Nationals, with 81 Lance Kinder become the oldest.
  • Since its inception in 1974, Yorkshire have produced the most Nationals champions with seven different winners across the men’s and women’s main draws.
  • Current Over 45s champion Nick Taylor has won 8 Nationals Masters titles.
  • The tournament has been held at Manchester’s National Squash Centre at Sportcity since 2003.

Explore the records to see who’s clinched the titles at englandsquash.com >